Search This Blog

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Watch out for these nasty ingredients lurking in your snacks!

I did some research today on which E numbers etc., to avoid, below is my compilation. You will want to know this if u are a vegetarian/vegan & it would almost be enough to make u become one if u aren't. So look sharp when you are out doing that grocery shopping! Kinda freaky what goes into processed food! Maybe some of you will find this little check list handy. . .pass it on to your friends & family:

Albumen: often from eggs, muscles, blood. In cakes, cookies, candies, etc.

Ambergris: from whale intestines. Used as a flavoring in foods and beverages.

Aspartic Acid, Aminosuccinate Acid: Can be from animal sources.

Bone Char: Animal bone ash. Often used to make sugar white. Serves as the charcoal used in aquarium filters.

Bone Meal: Crushed or ground animal bones. In some vitamins and supplements as a source of calcium. In some tooth paste.

Bone phosphate - E542: Anti-caking agent made from ground animal bones.

Bonito: Dried flakes from fish.

Carbon Black – E153: food colouring – usually derived from various parts of animals, unless it says vegetable carbons.

Cetyl Alcohol: Wax found in spermaceti from sperm whales or dolphins.

Chitosan: A fiber derived from crustacean shells. Used as a lipid binder in diet products.

Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines, Natural Red 4 - E120: A coloring that makes many foods red. Cochineal (Dactylopius Coccus) is made from the female insect. She is boiled alive or left to "cook" alive through sun exposure. Cochineal is the result of crushing scales of the insect into a red powder. Often found in fruit pie fillings, jams, many sweets, ice lollies, fruit juices, sports drinks and even cheeses.

Disodium inosinate - E631: Flavor enhancer, almost always made from animals and fish.

Disodium 5'-ribonucleotides - E635: Flavor enhancer, often made from animals.

Edible Oils: usually contain animal fats.

Emulsifiers related to the mono & diglycerides of fatty acids family - E472 A to F:
E472a Acetic acid esters
E472b Lactic acid esters
E472c Citric acid esters
E472d Tartaric acid esters
E472e Mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters
E472f Mixed acetic and tartaric acid esters
Because the E472 family is derived from Glycerin (Glycerol) (see E422 above), they generally contain animal fats.

Enzymes: Often this is made from animal insides e.g. it = rennet if it’s in cheese = the lining from a calves stomach -- don’t get it if you haven’t checked the source with the company. Found in cheese, sour cream, cottage cheese, biscuits, breads, crackers etc. BTW vegetarian enzymes = microbial enzymes ..those are ok.

Fatty Acids e.g. caprylic, lauric, myristic, oleic, palmitic, and stearic: Often from animal sources.

Gelatin - E441: Emulsifier / Gelling Agent, is from animal skin, bones, horns & hooves. Often found in yoghurts, jellies & sweets.

Glycerol - E422: (Humectant, Solvent, Sweet Glycerin) – Sweetener; is usually from animal fats unless it says it’s from plant/vegetable sources.

Glycine & its sodium salt - E640: Flavor enhancer, often derived from gelatin made from animal skins etc.

L-cysteine - E910: Improving agent. Produced commercially from hair of slaughtered animals, and from human hair (and feathers). In the case of human hair it comes from women’s hair in third-world countries. L-cysteine is used as an additive in around 5% of bread and other bakery products. It is not used in wholemeal bread or other wholemeal bakery products.

L-cysteine hydrochloride - E920: Improving agent. Produced from L-cystine (see 910 above)

L-cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate - E921: - Improving agent. Produced from L-cystine (see above).

Lecithin(s) - E322: Emulsifier and Stabilizer. Often from egg yolks, animal fat,muscle, blood, unless it says it’s from soya or another vegetarian source.

Lipase: an enzyme from the stomachs and tongue glands of calves, kids, and lambs. Used in digestive aids as it helps the body break down fats. Also commonly found in cheese and dairy products.

Mono & Diglycerides of fatty acids (glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate) - E471: Emulsifier; usually animal fat based unless it says it’s from soya or plant sources.

Methionine: Essential amino acid found in various proteins (usually from egg albumen and casein). Used as a texturizer and for freshness in potato chips.

Oleic Acid - Derivatives: Oleyl Oleate, Oleyl Stearate: usually obtained commercially from inedible tallow = rancid beef fat.

Palmitic Acid: often from animal fats.

Pepsin: generally from hogs' stomachs. A clotting agent. In some cheeses and vitamins.

Potassium Nitrate (Saltpetre) - E252: Preservative which is often artificially manufactured from waste animal matter. Often found in smoked cheese.

Rennet, Rennin: an enzyme from calves' stomachs. Used in cheese-making, rennet custard (junket), and in many coagulated dairy products.

Shellac - E-904: Glazing Agent. Shellac is a resin from an insect called the Lac bug (Laccifer lacca Kerr (Coccidae)). It is the coating on many candies..

Shortening/Lard: is pig or other animal fat unless stated otherwise.

Spermaceti, Cetyl Palmitate, Sperm Oil: Waxy oil derived from the sperm whale's head or from dolphins. In many margarines.

Stearic Acid, Stearic Hydrazide, Stearone, Stearoxytrimethylsilane, Stearoyl Lactylic Acid: most often refers to a fatty substance taken from the stomachs of pigs, and even from cows, sheep and from dogs and cats euthanized in animal shelters, etc. Used in chewing gum, food flavoring etc.

Squalene: Oil from shark livers, etc.

Suet: Animal fat - Beef or Sheep fat.

Tallow, Tallow Fatty Alcohol, Stearic Acid - Derivatives: Sodium Tallowate, Tallow Acid, Tallow Amide, Tallow Amine, Talloweth-6, Tallow Glycerides, Tallow Imidazoline: rendered beef fat. In margarines, lubricants, etc, etc.

Urea, Carbamide, Derivatives: Imidazolidinyl Urea, Uric Acid: excreted from urine and other bodily fluids. In mouthwashes etc. Used to "brown" baked goods, such as pretzels.

Vitamin A: can come from fish liver oil (e.g., shark liver oil), egg yolk. It is an aliphatic alcohol. In many vitamins, supplements etc.
Alternatives: carrots, other vegetables

Vitamin B-12: usually animal source.
Alternatives: some vegetarian B-12-fortified yeasts and analogs available. Plant algae containing B-12 in supplement form (spirulina).

Vitamin D. Ergocalciferol. Vitamin D-2. Ergosterol. Provitamin D-2. Calciferol. Vitamin D-3:
Vitamin D can come from fish liver oil, egg yolk, etc.
Vitamin D-2 can come from animal fats.
Vitamin D-3 is always from an animal source - watch out for your milk, many brands contain vit. D3 which is apparently from cow brains.
All the D vitamins can be in vitamin tablets, etc.
Alternatives: plant and mineral sources, synthetics, completely vegetarian vitamins, exposure of skin to sunshine.
Many other vitamins can come from animal sources. Examples: choline, biotin, inositol, riboflavin, etc.

BTW: Something listed as "Natural Sources," can mean animal or vegetable sources. Most often in the health food industry it means animal sources, such as animal elastin, glands, fat, protein, and oil.

Sources & more info:

To support ethical labeling:

No comments:

Post a Comment